top of page

The Alpha Sigma  Chapter of Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority, Inc. is located in the founding city of our Sorority. Part of the Central Region of Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority, Inc., the chapter boasts of an important role in the history of the organization. We aim to provide community outreach services that align with the values of our seven illustrious Founders. Continually striving to be a beacon of light in the Indianapolis community and beyond, members of Alpha Sigma embrace education of youth, social advancement of all, and leadership development.

National History

Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority, Inc. was organized on November 12, 1922, in Indianapolis, Indiana, by seven young educators: Mary Lou Allison Gardner Little, Dorothy Hanley Whiteside, Vivian White Marbury, Nannie Mae Gahn Johnson, Hattie Mae Annette Dulin Redford, Bessie Mae Downey Rhoades Martin and Cubena McClure. The group became an incorporated national collegiate sorority on December 30, 1929, when a charter was granted to Alpha chapter at Butler University.

From seven young educators, Sigma Gamma Rho has become an international service organization comprised of women from every profession. Sigma Gamma Rho offers its members opportunities to develop their unique talents through leadership training and involvement in sorority activities. Sorority activities provide an atmosphere where friendships and professional contacts are developed which often lead to bonds that last a lifetime.

bud biliken parade.jpg

Central Region History

Central Region is of great significance to the Sorority as it is where the inception of the idea for our great sisterhood was born through the efforts of the courageous and illustrious 7 educators from Indianapolis, Indiana.

Central Region has a rich history in that the Sorority’s Pledge, National Hymn, Slogan, Official Badge, Coat of Arms, Sorority Flower, and the Sorority Colors were all created and originated from Sorors within the Central Region. The Rhoer Pin, Rhoer Hymn and Official Flower were designed, written and selected respectively by members from Central Region.

The region consists of the following states: Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Michigan, Missouri, Minnesota, Nebraska, North Dakota, Ohio, South Dakota and Wisconsin. In addition, the Canadian Divisions of Windsor, Ontario, and west to Saskatchewan as well as Baffin Islands,  Greenland, Iceland, Queen Elizabeth Islands and Germany comprise the Central Region.

Central Region continues its fundamental role of making significant contributions to the legacy of Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority, Inc.

For more information

Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority, Inc.

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon

Sigma Gamma Rho | Central Region

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
bottom of page